Logic and Reason

Somehow, Christians seem to think it makes sense, arguing that I cannot be sure if logic and reason are valid. Yes, that may be true, but we all have to assume they are, because the alternative is assuming that we live in a world that doesn’t make any sense at all – and that includes religion, because without logic and reason, assuming that reading a book tells you the content is NOT valid. Every second, everything could turn green. Or nylon. Or whatever. We have to assume that logic and reason are really valid, because a) it seems that way and b) the alternative is insanity. Perhaps there are better philosophical explanations, but for me, that’s totally enough.

So, one simple rule: As soon as you start questioning logic and reason itself, I will consider you insane and stop talking to you. There’s no help for you and I will not follow you down into your mad place. Only if we both agree that logic and reason are valid, we can discuss. Otherwise, it’s completely pointless.

6 Kommentare zu “Logic and Reason

  1. „We have to assume that logic and reason are really valid, because a) it seems that way and b) the alternative is insanity. Perhaps there are better philosophical explanations, but for me, that’s totally enough.“

    It is enough for me too. To say that there are not logical reasons that people do things is to say that the world is totally random. This contradicts everything I see and hear.

  2. I’m so glad someone is saying things like this! Your blog is very refreshing, I’m happy to have found it (because I, gratefully, saw your comment on Jason Trivium’s post today). Oh, that Christians (like my former self) would just get some real education in philosophy and science!

  3. I had this exact conversation this morning with a friend who was trying to convince me that I had to assume there was a rational mind out there, or else I could not trust my thoughts, or something like that. I’m not smart enough to figure out why, but it just didn’t make sense to me. He said that you could not end up with rational thoughts without starting from the existence of a rational mind. Why not? I asked him to define „rational“ and „mind“ and we didn’t have time to continue the conversation.

  4. I love magicians. There used to be a magic shop a couple of blocks from where I worked. I’d go there during lunch hour sometimes. The guy who ran the shop would demonstrate several tricks, and I’d always try to buy at least one to pay for the show.

    The thing I loved is the release of all mental tension upon seeing the unbelievable happen in front of my eyes. It cleared my head and made me feel good on the way back to work.

Kommentar verfassen

